Um…Hi!!

I’ve been out of the loop while not being too out of the loop these days. Does that make sense? Probably not.

I guess I mean I’ve been connected to things happening here and in my homeland, but I haven’t been in the mood to talk about it much.

I’m sorry for being gone for this long. (I seem to be starting a lot of posts this way. I’ve read somewhere that one should never update with “sorry for not updating” but I can’t seem to take that to heart. I sometimes feel like my blog(s) are living creatures. Neglect, though unintentional, ought to be apologized for).

My days have been kind of busy. In April, I got a couple of promising job interviews, which went a long way in lifting me out of my stuck-in-a-rut phase. I’ve generally been trying to push forward with my life and, throughout it all, I couldn’t really think of anything pertinent for this little spot on the web.

To illustrate how bloody slow looking for jobs here can be: I applied for one at a multinational company on November 19. I got a reply yesterday. That’s almost six months. (It was a politely worded form letter letting me know that the position I applied to had been canceled. Imagine waiting 174 days to know that your potential job title went the way of the dodo).

Unsurprisingly, sending out CV’s and cover letters just to get absolutely zilch for months can put a rather large damper on your mood. But! It’s been quite a learning experience. At the risk of sounding a little cheesy, I’ve been working really hard on trying to change how I view my life, instead of waiting for things to change so I could be happy. It was a long and crappy process, but it did so much to get me out of the cycle of boredom and self-loathing.

(Admittedly, I began to change how I felt not very long before I started getting some replies to my many job applications. I don’t know if that was causal or a coincidence. Maybe a bit of both).

My daily life has me mostly spending time with my family. Sometimes I go out with friends, when we all have the time to meet up. I read, write a little, blog a little, draw a little and watch Game of Thrones. (Speaking of which, IT’S GETTING SO DAMN GOOD I CAN’T WAIT UNTIL NEXT WEEK).

I do have some stuff I want to talk about, and I have posts (or ideas) written up in my head. Just getting them out takes more effort, sometimes, than I’m able to give. I’m just trying to take things easy and ease myself into the idea of starting a working life again–something I’ve been needing since last August, really. (I haven’t officially gotten a job yet, but I’m getting pretty close. Just got to get some stuff finalized).

Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Um…Hi!!

Be Heard!

