Wordless…

A rather popular and prolific blogger I recently happened upon wrote a post about writing, which I suggest you check out.

Now I know there are a million-and-a-half blog posts out there that talk about the same thing, but this one stuck with me because of this particular image:

I don’t think I can adequately describe just how badly I want to do this—to feel this. Instead, my words are crammed down into the bottom of my chest, just below my heart, and encased by a gnarly prison of ribs. Unable to move, scramble, scatter, escape or congregate in even the slightest semblance of coherence.

There’s a dull ache of confusion and sadness balled up in a giant clenched fist, rooted firmly where my heart is supposed to be.

I don’t know if this is depression…and I’m pretty sure it’s not. I’ve felt depressed before, and it wasn’t like this. (If anything, this is great news).

I wish I knew how to fight my way out of this constructively. No matter how good I feel in the daytime, the still hours of the night bring with them a fog of fidgety annoyance that expertly strangles my thoughts and clogs my emotions.

All I see ahead of me is an intricate web of roads, and I can’t make heads or tails of any of them.

Where do I go from here?

5 thoughts on “Wordless…

  1. Hala,
    I will let Bill Friday know. I’m sure he will be happy his blurb struck a nerve with you.
    Cheers,
    Le Clown

  2. Hala,

    Today, I woke up to a personal message from Le Clown (it would have been nice if he sent coffee instead, but oh well), with a link to RIGHT HERE (points at picture, above). I must first, and forever, say “thank you” for posting my little blip of a thought… and “thank you” to the “…rather popular and prolific” Clown as well. And second, and just as forever, thank YOU for allowing those few words to “…fight the fog of fidgety annoyance” with you.

    Must be why I wrote them in the first place.

    Humbled,
    Bill

    • Hey there!!

      It was rather impolite of Le Clown to not send coffee, but I suppose we can’t have everything can we? It was pretty awesome of him to let you know about that up there (points at picture above), I think we can agree!

      I myself am humbled by your comment and the encouragement it gave me. Thank you!!

Be Heard!

