The Ending to Begin Again

This is “Episode VI”  in the memoir I’m writing for my Creative Non-Fiction class. Previous installments are herehereherehere and here. It’s a short one that I plan to use as my ending:

I sit on the precipice of another new beginning. It will take a blink, maybe two, and I’ll be a graduate. I have some idea, a big idea, no idea where I’m going to go next. I just know that I want to travel again, and I want to make an impact on the world, like it had an impact on me.

I want to have an open future, but I know I don’t have much time to sprawl on the couch and be picky about what I want to do. I like to write, to tell stories and I want, hopefully, to teach. I see people as books to be opened, and I want to have an experience in their lives as they have one in mine.

Sometimes I feel isolated, or passive, and I hate it. I miss that time in my life where things were fresh and just…different. I want that feeling you get when you come home at the end of the day and know you did something unique, something that you’ll remember for the rest of your life. I haven’t had that in so long. I’m coming to a point where everything I plan will point me in that direction—in the one of change, travel and adventure.

It’s another five months until I pull through to the other side of AUB, and another two months after that before I get my TEFL certificate. That will be my ticket to world travel and encounters that will have a higher impact on me than I’ll ever have on anything else.

And after that, who knows? My life was never based on plans that actually worked out, and, for better or worse, nothing ever turns out the way I think it would. Then again, what does?

2 thoughts on “The Ending to Begin Again

  1. Read…and currently being digested. Will return with (hopefully) something meaningful to say….

    If not….that is probably the best compliment.

Be Heard!

